4 November 2015

What’s a ComUE?

In order to further encourage synergy between existing actors and institutions, and to strongly enhance their international attractiveness, France decided to reorganise the entire higher education landscape to meet these objectives and give place for novel forms of regional and territorial coordination among the players.

The ComUE’s or Associations of universities and higher education institutions “Communautés d’Universités et Établissements” – abbreviated COMUE) were created with the >> Law on Higher Education and Research (France) of July 22, 2013. This reform implied the participation and agreement of various ministries which were respectively the supervisory authorities of various establishments, namely the ministries of education and higher education, finance, social affairs, industry, culture etc. Currently 23 such confederations have been approved by the authorities, out of which 8 are in the Paris region, and heSam one of the most prominent ones given the importance of her member establishments like Université Paris 1 (Panthéon-Sorbonne).

A ComUE being a grouping of higher education and research institutions, these organisations In French law have the status of Établissement public à caractère scientifique, culturel et professionnel (EPSCP), a formal category of more than 130 public higher education institutes in the fields of sciences, culture and professional education. The EPSCP have legal, administrative and financial autonomy in the French education system.
The EPSCP have full scientific autonomy to organise their research area, their curricula and degrees, up to and including doctoral degrees. They operate on the basis of a 4-year objective roadmap that they define and agree with the national fund-granting authority and their achievements are assessed by a national evaluation agency for research and higher education. They also have the ability to create their own research foundations. The EPSCP are led by a president and administered by a board of directors. They deliver bachelor, master and doctoral degrees as well as continuous education. They also contribute to national research programmes.